De-Duplication

GoldFynch's de-duplication function helps identify whether there are multiple copies of the same file present in a case, and flag such files with a special "DUPE" tag. You can use different Strategies(modes) to compare the files, and you can also select the Scope of the comparison. Once the selections are made an initial evaluation is executed and the detailed statistics related to the information that falls within your Strategy and Scope are displayed.

De-Duplication Scope

When a de-duplication operation is run, all duplicate documents are collected into groups and within these groups, one or more will be designated as a primary candidate and all the others will be duplicates

The de-duplication process can be run on a specific group of files as shown below;

De-Duplication Strategy

The method used to compare the files and identify the duplicates is known as the de-duplication strategy. The different strategies available on GoldFych are:

Running De-Duplication

Step 1. Navigate to the De-Dupe view by click on the button in the left pane

De-dupe View

Step 2. Click on the +New De-dupe Session button

Step 3. Enter a name for the de-dupe

Enter a name and click on create

Step 4. Click on the Create button

Step 5. Select the De-Dupe Scope

Select de-dupe scope and strategy

Note:

Select the folder for de-dupe

Step 6. Select the De-Dupe Strategy from the drop-down list

Step 7. Click on the Save and Evaluate button. Once the evaluation process is completed a report of the specified datasets along with information about the duplicates present in them will be displayed.

De-duplication statistics

Note:

Step 8. Click on the Apply.. button to run the final de-dupe process.

De-duplication statistics

Once the de-duplication process is complete you will see a confirmatory message at the top of your screen with the Scope and Strategy used.

Completed Deduplication

If a more recent de-dupe operation has been performed, the dedupe session will indicate this instead.

Completed Old Deduplication

Warning Notifications

The system scans for conflicts within the selected file set(s) that may affect the de-dupe process and will display warnings in the following scenarios:

Save and Re-evaluate a De-Duplication Session

You can re-evaluate a de-duplicate session as long as it has not been applied. The steps to do so, are given below:

Step 1. Navigate to the De-Dupe view

Step 2. Click on the folder icon against the de-dupe session you want to re-evaluate

Click on the folder icon to view session

Step 3. Make any changes that you wish and click on the Save and Re-evaluate button

Save and Reevaluate a dedupe session

Note: If you change the strategy or scope, then the message Evaluation is required to compute new statistics. Your settings have changed since the last snapshot was taken will be displayed.

Delete a De-Duplication Session

Step 1. Navigate to the De-Dupe view

Step 2. Click on the delete icon against the de-dupe session you want to delete

Click on the delete icon to delete the dedupe session

Step 3. Click on the Delete button on the Delete De-Dupe Session screen overlay

Confirm Deletion

Note: Alternatively, you can delete a de-dupe session by navigating to a de-dupe session and then clicking on the Delete button on the screen.

Delete De-Dupe Session