Cases can be shared with any number of collaborators, giving them varying levels of permissions for editing case-related data

Collaborate with others by working on a case together. Changes any of you make (e.g., tagging, adding, or deleting documents) will show up across all accounts. Read on to learn how to add users to a case and manage their permission levels.

Adding a user to the case

Step 1. Open the case you wish to share then navigate to the ‘Sharing’ view by clicking on the button in the left panel

Step 2. Click on the +Add a user button

Click on the add user button in the sharing view

Step 3. Enter the email address with which you want to share the case and click on the arrow. An email notification will be sent to the email address.

Enter the email address of the person with whom you want to share the case with

Setting sharing permissions

Note that you need to be an admin or owner of a case to be able to change permission levels

Assinging a user role (reviewer, user, admin or owner)

Step 1. Open the case you wish to share, then navigate to the ‘Sharing’ view by clicking on the button in the left navigation panel (as you would to add a new user as explained above.)

Step 2. Click on the dropdown menu against their email address

Step 3. Click on the user role you want to assign to them

Select an access level

Revoking access to a case

Step 1. Navigate to the ‘Sharing’ view

Step 2. Click on the trashcan icon against an email address (circled in the image above)

Step 3. Click on the yes button on the confirmation screen that follows:

Remove access for a user

User role permissions

Reviewer accounts

Reviewer accounts can:

  • View and search through files
  • Request add-on services
  • Create and remove redactions
  • Apply and remove tags
  • Save and load advanced searches
  • Create reports and productions

Reviewer accounts cannot:

  • Upload, move, delete, or rename files (including container files)
  • Delete advanced searches, productions or reports
  • Create, edit, or delete tags
  • Edit the settings of or delete a case
  • Share productions
  • Add or remove shared users from a case
  • Edit user roles

User accounts

In addition to permissions that reviewers have, ‘user’ accounts can:

  • Upload, move, delete, and rename files (including container files)
  • Delete advanced searches, productions, and reports
  • Create, edit, and delete tags
  • Share productions

User accounts cannot:

  • Edit the settings of or delete a case
  • Add or remove shared users from a case
  • Edit user roles

Admin accounts

Admin accounts have access to all the functions listed above. They can also:

  • Edit a case’s settings
  • Add and remove shared users from a case
  • Edit user roles

Admin accounts cannot delete a case.

Owner accounts

Owners have all permissions listed above. In addition:

  • Only owners of a case can delete that case
  • Only a case’s owner pays for case subscriptions (and only owners have the ability to.)


Owner Admin User Reviewer
Search
Review
Add/delete data -
Add/remove users - -
Delete case - - -
Additional cost - - - -

Find out more about managing case sizes.